Frogs….a-courtin’

Frog went a-courtin’, and he did ride, uh-huh
Frog went a-courtin’, and he did ride, uh-huh
Frog went a-courtin’, and he did ride
With a sword and a pistol by his side, uh-huhfrogs-5

Well they were certainly doing something like that today. Not so much a courtin’ more of an orgy come gang bang.  But he did ride.. oh yes, though some were sharing their ride with several other revelers!frogs-4

I suppose you have to have some sympathy, this being a once a year event. The rest of the year must be purgatory for them.frogs-2

Although they were not so preoccupied that at my approach all the splashing and ‘courtin’ did stop, however not for long, after a while they forgot I was there and continued their activities.

These frogs look a bit odd to me not exactly Rana temporaria, the common frog. They look more like Marsh frogs which I often see in France. Marsh frogs are more uniform in colour  and their eyes bulge more. Here is a photo of one that I took in France, for comparison.untitledfrog

However I looked up the distribution of Marsh frogs in GB and it is all SE/Kent area, so most unlikely. Also frog colouration is quite variable.

frogs-1

 

This was all happening at one of the small ponds on Clearwell Meand. I often go for a walk up there and I was there just a few days ago and was looking out for any signs of frogs or toads but nothing. So all this has kicked off in the last few days.

I also noticed some other activity in the water. Now these are shallow ponds and normally dry up at some stage in the summer. So no fish and not that many big invertebrates like great diving beetles or dragonfly larvae.  I was thinking it might be newts. Then I saw a head poke up where some of the activity had been taking place. It was small but with a 400mm lens and a steady hand this is what I photographed. The photo has also been cropped to get an even closer view.frogs-3

When I was at the pond I thought it might have been a terrapin but now I am not sure what it was. A second visit is needed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

