Hunting the Birds nest Orchid

Today I went hunting…. not a bear hunt, not even a bird hunt, just a Birds nest orchid hunt…. I know they like Beech woodland and I know they are difficult to spot as they are brown (lacking any chlorophyll) and so I set off in an area near Staunton where there are some extensive woods and they are predominantly Beech.

Lots of Ramsons about and some Bluebells. Fairly soon I spotted some woodruff which is a nice little wild flower, not spectacular but different.

Then I spotted some Herb Paris, this is an odd plant it has just 4 leaves and it has a weird spiky flower but the first ones I saw were a bit ratty and did not have any flowers.

This was an extensive area of woodland with lots of good paths and I roamed around searching for the Birds nest orchids, I came across quite a lot of Twayblades which are orchids but with small green flowers, not that stunning. Also some other plants which I think were orchids but not in flower…could be Butterfly Orchids, I will return in a few weeks to check them out.

Then I found some Herb Paris which were in flower, again green but I quite like them.

The peace and quite was gradually eroding away as I was getting close to a massive quarry.

In this area I came across more Herb Paris but also some Early Purple Orchids, these are quite common but also quite impressive.

Whilst photographing these I spotted a little Fly Orchid, now this is special and quite rare so I was very happy.

If you look carefully you can even see a small greenfly at the top of the flower spike. No Birds nest Orchids but a good day…

Leave a Reply

